Blessington Premier purchase produces a National Champion 

Young Handler Winner Dylan Joyce 


Charleville Show which was held on Sunday June 30th saw the return of the Growvite National Championships for the Irish Texel Society. 


With the fantastic facilities of Charleville showgrounds the show kicked off with a bang, first out of the traps was the aged ram class.


The winner of the class was Curley First Descent, which is no surprise that he also comes with five star terminal figures. He is also sire of the Novice 1st placed  ram lamb in both the nationals and the All Ireland from Feddans flock of Percy O’Callaghan. 

Curley First Descent

It was then onto aged ewe class with some exceptional ewes on display. Coming out on top this time was Paddy, Sean and Aoibhe Morrissey with a Hartside Assassin daughter.

1st Prized Aged Ewe  RWE 214639

The shearling  ram class was also claimed by the same winner as the All Ireland shearling ram class from Jimmy Garrivan with Cherryvale Gerrard, a son of Cherryvale Frankel. The class was packed with exceptional shearling rams with the high majority of them heading to the Society Premier sale on the 9th and 10th August in Blessington.


The shearling ewe was the next up and as usual it was one of the strongest classes on the day with the eventual Female Champion and Reserve coming from this class. Claiming first place was a Garngour  Fly Half and her mother being the  2022 Growvite National Champion, bred and exhibited by A and P O’Keeffe.  The 2nd prize in the class was a Midlock Dapper daughter from the Murphy brothers of Frenchbrook Texels, this follows her winning first prize in the Nationals last year.

1st Shearling Ewe OKI 2306911 Female Champion and Reserve Overall 

2nd Prize and Reserve Female JPH 2303685 J & P Murphy

It was then on to the novice ram lamb, this was claimed by a relatively new breeder Percy O’Callaghan from Co. Waterford with a naturally born Curly First Decent  triplet son and out of a homebred Forge Gig Gun ewe. This was the second major win for this lamb and Percy having been place first in the All Ireland.


1st Novice Ram Lamb PCH 2400140 Percy O Callaghan

The next class was the Open Ram Lamb class which some believed was the strongest class of the day with the winner going on to claim the Overall Championship later in the day. The first prize came from the previously mentioned Murphy brothers with a son of their 2023 Blessington purchase Annakisha Golden Moment who also has the same mother of the reserve female champion. He also heads to the Premier Sale on August 9th and 10th. This class was filled with exceptional lambs that will also be heading to the sale which is set to be one of the best premier sales yet based on this.

Open Ram Lamb 1st JPH 2404043 J & P Murphy Male Champion and Overall Champion 


Taking the red rosette in the junior ram class was also Jarlath Joyce with a son a Claybury Dunkirk and out of last years Premier Sale Campion and record price ewe lamb PFI2302019. This shows the quality offered for sale at the premier. This lamb went on to be Reserve Male champion he also heads to the Premier Sale.

March Class 1St Prized Ram Lamb JJG 2401266 Jarlath Joyce and Reserve Male Champion

The ewe lamb class was claimed by Jimmy Garrivan with a daughter of the 2022 Premier Sale Champion Clara Fandango out of Coniston Equinox daughter.

1st Open Ewe Lamn  GBE 240319 Jimmy Garrivan

The Junior Ewe Lamb class was then claimed by the Murphy Brothers with another daughter of Midlock Dapper.

1st Jnr Ewe Lamb JPH 2404070 J&P Murphy

The Novice Ewe class was won by Malachy Hand with a daughter of Sportsmans Dare Devil and out of a ewe purchased at the 2023 Premier Sale RDF2201088.

1st Novice Ewe Lamb YMH 2407344 Malachy Hand

The judge on the day John Neville commented of the exceptional standard of stock on show which is testament to the hard work of the breeders and he is looking forward to seeing the lambs and hoggets in Blessington. He also noted how great it was to see so many of the winners produced out of purchases made from Blessington last year.


Aged Ram 
1st Aged Ram Curley First Descent Dermott Behan and Percy O’Callaghan 
Aged Ewe class
1st RWE 214639 paddy morrissey
2nd UVI 2101584 David Craig
3rd GAF 2203411 Arthur O Keefe
4th PFI 2201929 Anthony Roland
5th SWF 2101208 Pamela Moffett
6th RJG 2207068 Robbie Walker
Shearling Ram Class
1st GCN 2303769 Jimmy Garrivan
2nd LDE 2302580 Liam Dillon
3rd YGI 2302900 Mary Gallagher
4th UVI 2301768 J &P Murphy
5th OKI 2306948 Arthur O Keefe
6th YGI 2302905 Mary Gallagher
Shearling Ewe 
1st OKI 2306911 Arthur O Keefe
2nd JPH 2303685 J & P Murphy
3rd GBE 2302812 Jimmy Garrivan
4th DHH 2300556 Dermot Behan
5th KTE 2303817 Tom Kenny
6th GBE 2302818 Jimmy Garrivan
Novice Ram Lamb
1st PCH 2400140 Percy O Callaghan
2nd EWG 2400142 Emma Wharton
3rd EWG 2400132 Emma Wharton
4th MPF 2401313 Paddy Morrissey
5th DHH 2400619 Dermot Behan
6th DHH 2400604 Dermot Behan
Open Ram Lamb
1st JPH 2404043 J & P Murphy
2nd JJG 2401251 Jarlath Joyce
3rd JPH 2404034 J & P Murphy
4th DBH 2400090 Brian Divilly
5th FSE 2401502 Fergal O Se
6th PCH 2400140 Percy O Callaghan
Junior Ram Lamb
1st JJG 2401266 Jarlath Joyce
2nd LDE 2402925 Liam Dillon
3rd KTE 2403947 Tom Kenny
4th YMH 2407361 Malachy Hand
5th PJE 2400474 Patrick Joyce
6th GBE 240032 Jimmy Garrivan
Open Ewe Lamb
1st GBE 240319 Jimmy Garrivan
2nd OKI 2407044 Arthur & Patrick O Keefe
3rd JPH 2404062 J & P Murphy
4th JPH 2404057 J & P Murphy
5th DBH 2400111 Brian Divilly
6th LDE 2402895 Liam Dillon
Junior Ewe Lamb
1st JPH 2404070 J&P Murphy
2nd LDE 2402926 Liam Dillon
3rd KTE 2403943 Tom Kenny
4th DBH 2400126 Brian Divilly
5th GBE 2403033 Jimmy Garrivan
6th YYH 2400045 Pamela Moffett
Novice Ewe Lamb
1st YMH 2407344 Malachy Hand
2nd EWD 2400135 Emma Wharton
3rd DHH 2400589 Dermot Behan
4th DHH 2400587 Dermot Behan
5th PCH 2400126 Percy O Callaghan
6th AWF 2400445 Mark Dolan
Champion OKI 2306911 A & P O Keefe
Reserve JPH 2303685 J & P Murphy
Male Championship
Champion JPH 2404043 James & Patrick Murphy
Reserve JJG 2401266 Jarlath Joyce
Female Championship
Champion OKI 2306911 A & P O Keefe
Reserve JPH 2303685 J & P Murphy
1st Dylan Joyce
2nd James Keane
3rd Joseph Divilly
July 6th, 2024|News, Shows|